Philosophy and Patristics

I want to point you to another blog that basically has the same purpose as my blog: Philosophy and Patristics.  While the blog’s “About” page does not contain any information, the subheading speaks volumes about the purpose of the blog: “Explorations in the Convergence between Christianity and Philosophy in Late Antiquity.”

Because Philosophy and Patristics has been around longer than this blog, much has been written that I had planned on writing about.  So, instead of re-inventing the wheel, I will point you to some posts that I find useful.  Today, I want to point you to a post titled “Principles for Patristics” in which the author provides a list of links to various posts within the blog that provide a guide on how to read the patristic fathers.  To pique your interest, here is the list of topics “Principles for Patristics” covers:

  1. Primary Sources
  2. Original Languages
  3. Lost in Translation
  4. Lather, Rinse, and Repeat
  5. Asking the Right Question
  6. Confirmation Bias
  7. Guilt by Association
  8. Rhetoric and the Difficulty of Interpretation

 

5 thoughts on “Philosophy and Patristics

  1. Danny,

    I’m glad you like my blog! It’ great to find someone else interested specifically in the relationship of philosophy and theology in the history of Christian thought. Do you have a specific period that interests you, or a specific thinker? I look forward to looking through your blog.

    -Ryan

    P.s.- I hope to update my “about” page soon. 🙂

    • Greetings, Ryan! I tell you, I was excited to find your blog! I am currently a Ph D candidate in Christian Philosophy and am working to get a double major in Church History. My history seminars have been in primarily the patristics thanks to the influence of Dr. Michael A. G. Haykin ( at SBTS). So, I particularly like the patristics’ period of history, but a thinker I’ve spent some time on is Aquinas (I particularly like his model of faith and reason). However, my dissertation is going to deal with the role of philosophy (or lack thereof) in the SBC since 1845, so my dealings in history is quite varied. Nevertheless, I’ve tried to ground my understanding of church history in the patristics.
      Thanks for your great blog! I really look forward to reading more! (I would read more even now, but I have phd comps to study for.)

      • Danny,

        Aquinas is someone I hope to get into more as I continue in my studies. As for now, I’ve only had bits and pieces, mainly through Edward Feser’s book and his blog (http://edwardfeser.blogspot.com/), but I have enjoyed what I’ve seen so far. As for your dissertation, it sounds like an interesting topic. I’ve never fancied American religious history, but I think that such a topic as yours would be interesting and offer many practical applications to modern problems. I hope it, and your comps, go well!

      • I’ll definitely have to check out Edward Fesser’s blog. Thanks for the heads up. Are you currently studying in school, or is your work a result of your own personal studies alone? I look forward to reading more on your blog!

  2. Danny,

    I finished my M.A. in Historical Theology from Grand Rapids Theological Seminary in August of 2011 and was subsequently accepted at St. Michael’s College in the University of Toronto to start my PhD program in Fall 2012. Unfortunately, due to various circumstances, going to Toronto didn’t work out and so I just finished another batch of applications for this fall. All of the posts in the “Series” section are papers I did for my M.A., but everything else is part of my personal study as I try to keep my mind working until I start my PhD program.

Would enjoy hearing from you!

